How do I hear God?

I’ve talked to a lot of youth and they ask some of the hardest questions I’ve ever been asked. They are so inquisitive. They will ask about anything if they feel you can be trusted and will be honest with them. Some of the questions I can’t answer. I try but often I think they walk away feeling more confused. One of those questions I have a lot of trouble answering is “how do I know God’s voice?” It’s a loaded questions that many adults can’t answer and still ask on a daily basis. I’m not going to say I have the perfect answer but there a few things I’ve come up with over the years, or rather God has shown me over the years.

– when we pray we talk we don’t listen (if you came in contact with the most powerful/intelligent person in the world how much would you say or would you want  to just sit and listen? Why then when we come in contact with God who can create something whit just a word do we just keep talking?)
– God rarely yells to get your attention
– hearing God often takes a lot more time and patience than we want to give to it

So here’s the advice I’ve given and it has worked. Not making any promises but give it a try. I recommended sitting in absolute silence for 10 minutes every day for a week. No great worship CD or talking, just you waiting and listening for God. I think He’ll honour your intentions and your heart to hear him and speak to you. Just make sure your listening.

Tags: , , , , , ,

~ by Philip on August 29, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
