am I alone

Friday night I was in a small group discussion with a few young guys. One of them is taking his first philosophy class and had what is obviously one of the biggest questions attached to our faith ‘can you prove God is real?’

I said no. I said I can’t logically walk you through a series of thoughts that proves God is there. There is nothing I can say that would make you 100% sure God is real the same way I could make you sure that the chair you are sitting on is real.

This has to be one of the hardest questions we as Christian leaders will face. So many people want it to be irrefutable. Youth or adults, whoever you serve, both will ask. They want us to show them God without faith.

It takes faith to believe God is there and that He loves and cares for us and has extended us ultimate grace. Faith is hard and it takes more of than you may think to have faith. Having faith in something that cannot be proven leaves you open to ridicule and attack. Those attacks will rarely stay objective and will often turn to personal attacks on you and your intelligence.

Faith is hard and believing in a God you cannot see is hard. The only way I’ve found to prove God is through experience. You do experience Him and so others can too. Experiencing God’s love and grace is the only way to prove He is real. It’s different for every person but every person can experience God.

It will still take a great amount of faith but what is worth doing that doesn’t require something of you? Who worth following doesn’t require something of you? What relationship doesn’t require something of you?

What kind of life are you leading if you’re not giving something of you?

~ by Philip on December 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “am I alone”

  1. no you aren’t alone. I love your insight here, proof of God without faith.

    “Lord I believe, help my unbelief.”

  2. I think a lot of people feel alone at times. In an attempt to seam Godly and like a ‘good Christian’ they don’t admit their doubt and then can’t go to God for help with their unbelief.

Leave a Reply

 
