hello?

Twice in the past 24 hours I’ve been asked what to do when you don’t hear from God. What do you do when you pray and hear nothing back and not one of your prayers gets answered?

I don’t know. I have no idea what to do when God chooses to keep silent and chooses to keep answers from us that we so dearly need.

I don’t have a smart conclusion here. I don’t have something inspirational to say that makes it all seam better. All i have is more questions. All i have is more confusion because i have no idea what to say or why God has made the choices He has made.

And sometimes it feels like faith just isn’t enough. What do you do when you feel like you need more than the knowledge that God is there and listen because everything you are experiencing says other wise?

What do you do?

~ by Philip on December 4, 2008.

2 Responses to “hello?”

  1. I try to step back. I try to think and listen in bigger time frames and in broader circles than me right now.

    I look at the exodus which took God more than 4 centuries to get around to. And I think about the times that as a parent I just wait and don’t answer requests immediately.

    And, as i heard in a TV show long ago, “having faith doesn’t mean that I don’t ask questions. It means that I don’t push so hard for the answers.”

    And there is no simple answer other than remember than when i try to be god, it doesn’t work so well.

  2. all good thoughts and there’s a lot in there to think about. thanks for your insight Jon.

Leave a Reply

 
